A little more about me.

So after my rather bleak post last night, I figured I would take some time to share some more about who I am.  A lot of people tend to know little things about me, but not why I enjoy those things.  So here’s your chance to know a little bit more about Josh.

Weather:
One of the first things people know about me is that I am a huge weather nerd.  I can frequently be found checking computer models, staring at a radar for hours as a storm approaches, and even posting my thoughts at the AccuWeather Forums. Many people have asked me “why didn’t you study meteorology in college”.  The reality is I wanted to, but when it came time to decide on what college to go to, the fact that my mom wanted me to stay in Indiana, and the fact that I wanted to attend a Christian college limited my options.  In retrospect, I wish I would have had the option to study meteorology, but I still very much enjoy having it as a major hobby in my life.  One funny thing that a lot of people don’t know about me is I used to be terrified of thunderstorms.  All the way into middle school I would hide under the bed when storms would come, and would start crying if I even knew a thunderstorm was coming.  Now I tend to run out into the middle of the street when a storm is bearing down on the area…  I even have my own weather blog now 🙂

God:
My Christian life has been full of ups and downs to say the least.  I was raised as a charismatic Pentecostal at a very large church in Fort Wayne, IN.  Early in high school I became fairly complacent in my faith (as many do) and didn’t have any real passion about it.  The summer before my Junior year of High School, my youth pastor called and invited me to Church Camp.  I reluctantly agreed and it ended up being a spark that turned me into quite the radical Christian.  I returned to High School determined to “save the world”.  I was actively involved in playing music at church, attending Bible Studies at school, and witnessing whenever I had the chance.  I kept that fire up until the time I graduated from High School.  The church I had grown up in went through a very difficult split.  Because of the size of the church, it was a front page story on all of the local newspapers, and it shook me to the core.  As I started college at a Christian school, I actually began to fall back into complacency.  During college I tried numerous different types of Christianity, from a radical group that many called a cult, to even beginning to consider Catholicism.  After college, the ups and downs got to me, and I fell away from Christianity.  I never denied my faith, but my actions certainly appeared that way.  Ever since then, I have been trying to find where I fit in to the grand scheme of Christianity, and I still continue that search today…

Roller Coasters:
This is another interest of mine that most people know about right away.  It is another interest that used to terrify me.  Growing up, and  all the way until middle school, I was terrified at the idea of getting on any roller coaster bigger than a kiddie coaster.  That all changed when my brother bet me ten dollars that I wouldn’t ride the Magnum XL-200 at Cedar Point.  I reluctantly worked my way up to it and ended up completely loving it.  What my brother didn’t realize is that moment single handedly started my coaster fanaticism.  Since then I have now rode over 100 roller coasters, and have even rode the Magnum more than 350 times…  I even worked at Cedar Point for 2 summers during college.  Although I am a huge fan, I’ve never really gotten into the various coaster clubs that are available.  I tend to just enjoy riding them, but not becoming a part of an organized club.

Politics:
As I stated last night, I certainly don’t know as much about politics as I have led on.  But here is what I can say.  I was raised under the assumption that being a Christian meant being a Republican.  In college, I began to feel like some of the things that Jesus taught were actually more closely aligned with the views of the Democratic Party.  There will still major issues I had with the Liberal side of things (Abortion), but I felt like I was more closely aligned with the views of Democrats than those of Republicans.  In the past few weeks, I have realized that I don’t know a whole lot about what goes on in Washington, and sadly I feel the majority of the general public is just as uninformed as I am.  We tend to take what we hear in the media or on talk radio and accept it as gospel.  I really hope to change this soon.  With the recent passage of Health Care reform, I really do hope to read the bill to understand what it entails.

Well, I will stop with those tonight.  There are certainly more topics I can cover, but I will save those for another day.  If you have any questions you want to ask me, feel free to use my new formspring.  It seems like a fun way to learn about each other.  You can find it here:

www.formspring.me/StormFreak

You can always ask more in the comments as well.  Hope everyone had a lovely Monday.  The better part of mine was spent with a migraine.  Luckily that is gone now, and Kelly will be coming back early tomorrow morning, so that’s two things that are reasons to be happy today.  Talk to yinz later.

Leave a Reply

